Get A DUI Temporary License in Jacksonville, Florida

Classic Car Headlight

Get A DUI Temporary License in Jacksonville, Florida

You have just been arrested for DUI and you are trying to figure out how you can get to work, drop your kids off at school and do everything else you need to do with your vehicle. On top of all the stress of being arrested and facing criminal charges, life still needs to go on. If this was your first DUI there is an option described below that allows you to recieve a temporary hardship licesnse, but you need to act quickly. You also need to understand that you are waiving your right to have a hearing by the DHSMV. This hearing can be beneficial if there are issues with why the officer stopped you, how they conducted themselves or how you may have performed on field sobriety exercises. The hearing provides an attorney to take a first stab at questioning the police and getting sworn testimony and often unknown information which can lead to successful motions being filed in your case. Before waving any hearings, you should contact an attorney immedielty and review the arrest report to see if any issues exist. 

10 Day Rule in Florida

Florida law allows first time DUI offenders to take advantage of a special waiver and almost immediately obtain a business purposes only driver license after a first DUI arrest.  Typically, when you are arrested for DUI in Florida, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (“DHSMV”) automatically suspends your license for 6 months (w/ a 30 day hard suspension period) if you take a breath/blood test and have a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher, or automatically suspends your license for 1 year (w/ a 90 hard suspension period) if you refuse to take a breath/blood/urine test.  The hard suspension period means you cannot have any type of driver license during that period.  This is a DHSMV administrative driver license suspension that kicks in immediately and is completely independent from your criminal DUI case.  You do have the right to challenge the validity of that suspension by demanding a formal review hearing however, if you waive your right to a formal review hearing, you can skip the hard suspension period and get a business purposes only license immediately.

Contact Information in Jacksonville For DUI School and Your Temporary License

To take advantage of this special waiver, you must do the following within 10 days of your arrest:

Enroll in DUI School at the Northeast Florida Safety Council: 

Northeast Florida Safety Council

1725 Art Museum Drive

Jacksonville, FL 32207

(904) 399-3119

www.jaxsafety.com

You can register online or in person, but will need the following documentation:

  • Driver’s License Number
  • Photo I.D. (Florida I.D. or a Government Issued Picture I.D.)
  • Proof of Residence (i.e. a utility bill showing residency in Duval, Baker, Clay, Columbia, Nassau or St. John’s County)
  • Complete Arrest and Booking Report (typically 5 pages)
  • Copy of your DUI Citation
  • Blood Alcohol Content Test Results or Refusal Affidavit

Make an appointment with the DHSMV Bureau of Administrative Reviews to request waiver and obtain a business purposes only license. (cost is $250)

Bureau of Administrative Reviews – Jacksonville Office

7439 Wilson Boulevard

Jacksonville, FL 32210

(904)777-2130 Phone

(904)777-2133 Fax

You need to bring the following with you:

Proof of Enrollment in DUI School
Photo Identification

BE SURE TO CONTACT NFSC AND THE BUREAU OF ADMINISTRATIVE REVIEW TO LEARN IF THEY CURRENTLY REQUIRE ANY THING ELSE NOT LISTED IN THIS POST, IN ADDITION TO THE CURRENT COSTS.  

If You Have Any Questions About Obtaining a Temporary License After a DUI or Any Other Matter

Please contact Clifton Law Office, you can reach me at my contact page online or call me directly at 904-209-4883.

Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment